Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

I just noticed a shared user on my mac but I have no idea who this person is? Is my mac hacked?

HELP.. I just noticed there's a shared user on my macbook pro. What does this mean and how did this person get on my macbook? I have no idea who this person is and I would like them removed. I'm new to using a mac. Please help me. Thank you in advance for your help.

MacBook Pro

Posted on Jun 19, 2011 9:22 PM

18 replies

Apr 1, 2017 8:54 AM in response to Serenity..

I just bought a new iMac this week (replacing my old one that had just turned 6yrs old! *sad*) and just noticed it myself. When googling about it (after a mini panic) I found this: https://community.shaw.ca/thread/34947 which may help you. I am with Rogers (Which is Shaw too) and use the wifi from their modem / router provided with their service and I'm 90% sure this is one in the same topic provided via the link I posted. Hope this helps! 🙂

Dec 8, 2017 7:25 AM in response to djfakjdkj

As was mentioned before in the thread. Computers appearing in the Shared section of Finder just means they are connected to the same network you are and your computer can see them.

It is not an issue, its how networking has always worked.

If people have sharing on, and there computers are discoverable, other computers will be able to see them when connected to the same network.

There is nothing wrong, and nothing that needs to be done from your side.

CE-Linux generally refers to some device that is using Consumer Electronic version of linux. It could be your router, or a smart home system, etc...

Jun 19, 2011 9:45 PM in response to Serenity..

Serenity.. wrote: