Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Mid-2011 13" Macbook Air Trackpad problem.

I have a new mid-2011 13" MBA and have noticed the trackpad is noticeably less smooth when scrolling than the one on my 13" MBP. Is this a unique problem with mine or one that others have seen? Any suggestions? I've tried repairing the permissions and resetting the PRAM/NVRAM with no change.

MacBook Air, Mac OS X (10.7)

Posted on Aug 2, 2011 6:34 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Aug 3, 2011 6:51 PM

I am having tons of issues with it being hyper-sensitive. I am constantly having issues with it moving items, highlighting when I don't want to, clicking links or submitting things I didn't intend to, etc. Yet at other times it's completely unresponsive and I have to click something repeatedly.

130 replies

Aug 16, 2011 7:30 AM in response to hdrme

I'm having the same issue. I use a mouse most of the time, but when I'm away, I use the touch pad. Some times it just will not respond to my finger movements. Last night, I noticed the cursor doing some irratic movement when I wasn't even touching the touchpad or using the mouse. I thought I had a virus/trojan and someone else was controlling it.

When it works, it is amazing. But it fails far too often. A reboot helps.

It's either Lion or the Touchpad. Or both.

Aug 16, 2011 9:00 AM in response to hdrme

What if you moisten your finger tips? I live in Phoenix and the very low humidity here dries my hands out to the point that none of my touch surfaces work properly - iPad, MBP trackbad, MBA trackpad or Magic Trackpad. Simply moistening my finger tips usually resolves the issue for a bit (until they dry out again...). I bought one of these for my desk and briefcase:

http://www.quill.com/sortkwik-fingertip-moistener/cbs/051704.html

HTH,

Tim

Aug 16, 2011 8:15 PM in response to ribbitribbit