Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

MAC OSX for Engineering

Hi,

Apple's marketing says: OSX Lion the most advanced operating system. I agree for its features, but I'd like to use it in many processes. People can't develop productivity to have a good tool.

I consider that it's essential that Apple encourage developers to work in Software, for apllications which focus on some professional fields.

It's a great step that Autocad has started to develop software for MAC, but the transference isn't complete.

I am a Civil Engineer, and there's a very important work for engineering. About Structural Analysis, the market offers products like SAP2000, ETABS, Robot Structural Analysis, SAFE, CSI COL, etc. Also software for transportation design: Civil3D. For channels and pipes design. All of them are only available for Windows.

I don't know other fields to talk about, but it's true, professionals feel forgotten by Apple.

Greetings,

Isai Fernández

PD. I'm sorry for my poor English.

Mac OS X (10.7)

Posted on Aug 9, 2011 5:48 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Aug 9, 2011 6:14 AM

To contact Apple directly: http://www.apple.com/feedback/macosx.html

(in here we are all just fellow Mac-user...).

Plus you should contact the developers of the programs/applications you mentioned and encourage them to bring their software to Mac OSX.

After all, it is their descision to do it or not and there might be some financial/economic reasons to not do it.

Stefan

30 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Aug 9, 2011 6:14 AM in response to Iefe

To contact Apple directly: http://www.apple.com/feedback/macosx.html

(in here we are all just fellow Mac-user...).

Plus you should contact the developers of the programs/applications you mentioned and encourage them to bring their software to Mac OSX.

After all, it is their descision to do it or not and there might be some financial/economic reasons to not do it.