Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Is it worth it to buy a mac mini? or imac instead?

Hi,

I will be as much brief as possible.

Im an audio engineer that has been used to work with Mac Pros, taking into account that in the studios I have worked, they got $60.000 consoles/mixers so it it is indispensable to have one of those.

At home ive got a Macbook Pro (late 2009) with 2.8 Ghz, 4GB RAm, 500Gb. I havent had any problems til now, except when Im using Logic Pro and Ive got a lot of plugins working a the same time. This happens every time in a while. Doesnt really affect my work. Im a DJ and I create electronic music.

I need a new computer as have acquired new equipment and Im out of USB ports and the screen is so small. Ive got two nice slim 22" LG MONITORS so that have helped. But I think is time to invest in a new desktop computer. I always need to move my laptop as its my only computer so its a pain in the *** to always plug and unplug everything.

If i buy a mac mini I will go for the 2.7 Ghz i7. that will cost $900. But the Imac with similar specifications will cost nearly $1500.00... theres ia 600 dolar difference. The only advante i see about the imac is its big screen. But I dont know if it is worth it to but the imac or macmini!!!!

Any help will be appreciated based on my needs.

thanks a lot

Macbook Pro, 2.8 GHz - 500Gb - 4Gb Ram

Posted on Aug 17, 2011 12:59 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Aug 17, 2011 5:52 PM

Some things to consider:

• Do you need another monitor? That's mainly what the $600 difference buys you.
  • Are you going to need an optical drive? The mini doesn't come with one, so you'd need to hang an external one off of it.
  • Are you ever going to need to move this computer? With the mini, it's really easy to unplug everything, throw it in a bag and go. Not so much with the iMac.