Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Why does subscript stop working?

I use Pages a lot for making worksheets. As I'm a Chemistry teacher I use subscripts and superscripts a lot and have placed the appropriate facilities in my toolbar for Pages. I've been finding recently, though, that when I select text in text boxes the superscript and subscript icons are greyed out. Neither is superscript or subscript available through the menu route.

Mac OS X (10.7.2)

Posted on Jan 28, 2012 3:38 PM

16 replies

Mar 19, 2012 1:22 AM in response to Andrew At The Croft

I've had this problem, too, and found a lot of similar threads in these forums with no resolution. I may have stumbled across something useful, though.

The last time it happened to me, I was playing around with a few documents I had open, trying to find some pattern to the coming-and-going of the sub- and superscript functions. I noticed that often, if I switched from one document to another, the functions would return. So if they were grayed out, and I switched to another document and back, they would be back for a while. Often, as soon as I did something with the document, they deactivated again.

So then I tried closing all but one document - and then the functions became active again full time. And when I reopened another document, they kept working.

So Andrew, or anyone else who finds this thread, see if closing all but one document solves the problem, at least temporarily. If it works for everyone, then at least it's a relatively quick fix when the problem starts.

Apr 24, 2012 12:29 PM in response to Andrew At The Croft