Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Can two apple IDs share the same library?

Mac newbie here needs some advice...

I just got a new iMac and have created separate accounts for my husband and me on it. We used to share an apple ID for music, but now I'd like for us to have our own apple IDs especially with the iCloud capabilities I don't want my iPhone stuff going to his Mac account, etc. Problem is that all his music is in my library and he doesn't want to have to re-buy it again. So I figured out that I can share my music library with his account on the iMac, and I have him signed in to iTunes with his separate Apple ID... good so far... but what's going to happen when he buys something? Will it go into my library (as some sort of combined one), or into a separate one?

The other issue I encountered is that when I went to enable automatic synchronization across devices for him, I got a message saying that it was already logged in with another apple ID (I'm assuming it was referring to mine?). That's not good.

I want us both to have totally separate IDs etc, especially for iCloud backups etc, but I wanted to be able to share music libraries. Is that possible? Am I doing something wrong?

Thanks!

Posted on Mar 18, 2012 3:00 PM

12 replies

Mar 20, 2012 8:46 AM in response to Rysz

Sure, just use a common AppleID for your music/iTunes, and separate ones for iCloud and iMessage. You can have as many AppleIDs as you want (each does need an email address that is NOT already in use as an AppleID), and you can use a different AppleID for any Apple service (iTunes and App store, another for iMessage, another for iCloud, another for these forums,...).