Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How to I auto-add .com in Safari?

I'm new to Mac, and trying to get used to using Safari.

In other browsers, when I type in a URL, I would use CTRL-Enter (on a PC) and the www would be added to the front of the URL, along with the .com at the end of the URL.

I can't find a similar key combo in Safari. I've done several Google searches regarding the issue, and people state that it should always be added automatically. While that's true for sites I've already visited, it's not true for sites I go to for the first time. For those sites, I end up with some Brighthouse Cable DNS search page (which I assume must have gotten redirected at the router, since there's no way the MacBook could have known I have Brighthouse cable).

Any suggestions? Or is this just the way Safari works?

Charlie

MacBook Pro (Retina, Mid 2012), Mac OS X (10.7.4), My very first MacBook Pro

Posted on Jun 16, 2012 6:03 AM

22 replies

Jun 17, 2012 2:49 PM in response to joanna117

Unfortunately it seems that the selection of websites this works for is very limited. For example, I was attempting to visit a popular Ford Mustang site call www.allfordmustangs.com. Safari didn't add the .com for me.

I suppose what's the most dissapointing is that IE, Firefox, and Chrome all support the same keystroke - CTRL-ENTER. That keystoke adds the www and .com to the address for you. You don't have to use it, but it comes in handy.

Hopefully this will be something Apple will consider for future releases.

Jul 28, 2012 3:03 AM in response to this-is-my-alias

Interesting post - a lot to take in.

I got a little lost with your remarks about removing www. My sever can serve different sites depending upon the existence of www. In other cases removing www when it should exist (or vice versa) results in a not found. If I have misunderstood perhaps you could explain it another way for me.