Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

New to Mac, Basic questions

Coming from PC Windows world...so please be patient with me😊I have had this MBP Retina scan for 36 hours and spent 6 of those hours with One-to-One where it took them more than an hour to even get me logged into the Apple Store (complicated story, not worth going into).

What Anti Virus program do you recommend?

Face Time appears to soley be for one Apple product to another; therefore, does Skype work with this Mac? I have Snow Lion OS.

Email question: I found how I can add an ADDRESS when someone writes me, but how do you manually update the Address Book?

I want to be able to use Safari to TEXT to smart phones. Is there a SMS App that you recommend for Snow Lion? Any help in this area is greatly appreciated as I am new to the smart phone world as well. I have a situation this summer where I will be on a ship that has WiFi but no Cell service, so I can surf but still have a need for text.

I have many more questions, but this will get me started. Thanks in advance.

Posted on Aug 2, 2012 9:02 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Aug 2, 2012 9:07 AM

I don't recommend any AV software. Since there is nothing for the AV software to do, why spend all of those those resourses to do nothing. Then some AV software such as Norton can actually cause problems on Mac. Why be bothered.

Yes, Skype works with Mac.

Allan

21 replies

Aug 2, 2012 9:56 AM in response to wroger45

wroger45 wrote:

I have Snow Lion OS.

I think you mean you have "Mountain Lion." Officially known as OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion. To confirm, pull down the Apple Menu and select About This Mac.

wroger45 wrote:

What Anti Virus program do you recommend?

None. For the time being, there isn't anything for anti-virus software to detect. Wait until there is an actual threat.

wroger45 wrote: