Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Paranoid Security

I've been using ML for about a week and a half. Largly all seems good except this bug I and others ran into

https://discussions.apple.com/thread/4139732

Then there is the removal of scripting capabilities from the Calendar app in "the interest of security" like this

https://discussions.apple.com/thread/4139323

Fortunately there is a work around.

The only other real complaint I have is that I, as an administrator couldn't write to the root level of my HD's until I tweaked the permissions.

I have been using Macs since 1984 and have many working directories at the root level. I know that as things evolved and multiple users were introduced Apple decided how thing should be organized and working root level directories other than those anointed by Apple like Applications, Users, .... aren't part of the vision.

The problem with this is that I have numerous scripts that are based on my current directory organization at the root level of my main HD and the other two HD's which are clones of my main HD. These scripts have evolved over 15+ years and I really don't want to modify/rewrite them. I also use an offsite backup service that reflects my current structure and I really don't want to overhaul that.

Are you listening Apple; not really. 😮 Just had to get that off my chest 😀

User who still has his Mac 512K, Power Book 145 and four others.

Mac Pro, OS X Mountain Lion

Posted on Aug 4, 2012 10:56 AM

9 replies

Aug 6, 2012 6:31 AM in response to William-Boyd-Jr

I suggest that you bite the bullet and adapt.

I have. I have a Mac Pro, Macbook Pro and one killer Linux machine. Also use Firefox with thousands of extensions which allow me to do it my way on my computer. Currently have a 25Mb Internet connection to my house, no longer dial-up 😉