Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

When does a developer need to pay Apple? (App on App Store)

If I was to create an app for the app store (a hotel comparison app, for example) in which a user can check for a product and then be linked directly to the appropriate site (i.e the hotel) or third party (i.e paypal) for billing purposes - as the app itself is not directly dealing with money transactions - would I still be liable to make additional payments to Apple?

I'm new to this and doing research for my boss, and I've so far understood that we would need to be $99 to join the iOS development program but I cannot seem to find any information about what other charges we were likely to incur should we create an app.

So for example:

Customer downloads the app (more than likely it would be a free app)

Customer uses it to search for (as an example, cheapest hotels in an area).

Customer can view information about the hotel and then should they choose to make a booking, the app then links to an external website (either directly to the hotel or integrate, somehow, with the hotels internal payment system) in which to complete the transaction.

So whilst the app would not physically process payments - would there be any limitations?

If you understand what i'm saying...

For the record, i'm not making a hotel comparision app - it's just an example!

Posted on Jan 15, 2013 9:41 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jan 15, 2013 9:43 AM

You only pay Apple $99/yearly.

There's no other charges.

10 replies

Jan 15, 2013 10:00 AM in response to Michael Black