Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

when setting up my icloud mail i accidently pressed dont merge instead of merge. can i still merge them and if i can how do i do it?

When setting up my icloud mail I accidently pressed dont merge instead of merge. Can I still merge them and if I can, how do I do it. I am a complete novice at this type of technology so any help is greatly appreciated!!

iPhone 4, iOS 6.0.1

Posted on Jan 15, 2013 8:06 PM

9 replies

Jan 15, 2013 8:53 PM in response to CRAnnie

You could try going to Settings>iCloud, turning Mail to Off, then back to On again but I'm not sure you'll get another Merge prompt. If not, you would have to start over with a new iCloud account again. But I don't believe doing so will sync your iCloud account with your Yahoo email; iCloud only syncs your iCloud email. (I assume the merge option would only upload your existing email to your iCloud account, not continue to import new email from this account.)

If you want to have both accounts on your phone, just leave the Yahoo account in place. You can view both inboxes by going opening Mail, tapping the account name on the top left, then tapping All Inboxes. Or if you want to migrate to just using iCloud email, set up your Yahoo account to forward all incoming email to your iCloud address, and just use your iCloud email.

Jan 15, 2013 9:09 PM in response to CRAnnie

You're welcome, but just so you know, iCloud doesn't really sync email. When you check your email you are looking at it directly on iCloud's server, whether you check from your phone, your computer or any other device.