Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

What's the best OS for my PowerMac G5

I am new to MAC and was just gited this beast. I have no idea what OS I can run, I don't believe it has intel inside, I believe it has single or dual 2.5GHz CPUs. It's a big beautiful machine and I was hoping I could run netlfiix and XBMC off it. What's the latest OS I can install. Is it Leaopard 10.5.8? Where can I obtain this OS?

Thanks.

PowerMac, CPUPowerPC

Posted on May 31, 2013 12:04 PM

13 replies

Jun 1, 2013 12:05 AM in response to Ramón G Castañeda

Ramon,

I take it you don't do any updating of your apps? Support for Tiger is almost near nil, while Leopard is holding on. On my G5 Quad, like yours.. I have no problems running Leopard at all and its fast and lightning quick. Why is it not so quick on your system?

Then again I have a Nvidia Geforce 7800GTX 512MB card and 12GB of DDR2 memory. Perhaps if you upgraded the video card and memory maybe Leopard then would make you want to go to it and drop Tiger. Not saying you should, but consider that Leopard at least provides some applications to work on it.

Aug 20, 2014 8:45 PM in response to jpascone

Although it has grown quite long in the tooth now, Power PC processor powermacs are still capable machines depending on what you want to do with them. However, 10.4 and 10.5 are sort of like continuing to run an end-of-life Windows XP system with the security vulnerabilities, old Javascript, and out of date Flash player.

I'd recommend you transition your computer to Linux. Your two best options would be Lubuntu (currently at release 14.04) if you're new to the platform, or Debian (currently at release 7) if you're an experienced computer user. My first Apple was a ][+ running DOS 3.3 so I am pretty comfortable issuing terminal commands.