Previous 1 2 Next 24 Replies Latest reply: Sep 28, 2013 7:05 AM by orchid13
Eric Shawn2 Level 3 Level 3 (600 points)

So I'm seeing all these videos about the parallax effect for the iOS 7.  As well, in these videos, I noticed that the background of the task bar and folders have a low opacity, or more translucent.  I  read that it works on the 4S.  However, looking at my 4S screen, the task bar and folder backgrounds are a solid grey (ugly looking), and I don't see any "3D" effect.  Motion reduce is off.  Can someone confirm if this effect should work on the 4S or not?

Thanks.

iPhone 4S, iOS 7
  • 50shadesofmeh Level 2 Level 2 (370 points)

Try turning off Increae Contrast in Settings>General>Accessibility>Increase Contrast

• Eric Shawn2 Level 3 Level 3 (600 points)

Increase Contrast is off, and so is Reduce Motion.

So I started playing around with diffrent wallpapers.  It looks like the background of the task bar and folders aren't really translucent at all. They mimic the surrounding colours, so that it looks like it's translucent.  Kind of like the way iTunes does for album covers.  So if you have a wallpaper that's mostly black and grey in colour.  iOS 7 mimics grey.  Bright pastelly colours like the ones in iOS 7, it mimics the colours within the area.

As for the parallax effect, I used a pic of a friend of mine as a wall paper, now I can see a little of the effect.  It's very, very subtle.  Unless your actually looking for it, and looking very hard, you won't notice it at all.  I'm a little disappointed.  Along with the faster drain on battery, even with background refresh, bluetooth and all other non-essentials turned off.  Still drains a little faster than pervious iOS 6.  Not bad mind you, but still a little disconcerning.  Hopefully Apple will fix these issues in future updates.  Just wondering why mine is very subtle, while others, you can clearly see the effect.

• stavroch Level 1 Level 1 (0 points)