Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Sound / Audio issues with Google Chrome

Hi guys,

I have this audio issue with a new Macbook Air (2013 base model).

When I stream audio / video (eg podcast, YouTube, NBATV) via Google Chrome, there is the static or clicking sound which you could hear both through the built in speakers and through the headset.

Brought it in to the Apple Store yesterday and they acknowledged the sound on Chrome. HOWEVER when using Safari, this clicking / static sound is no longer audible. I can probably record an audio clip to demo this further. The genius concoluded that this is probably an issues with Chrome or codecs that its using rather than the actual laptop. No replacements at this stage.

I have an old MBA 11” where this issue does NOT occur.

The hesitation in using Safari is Flash. Some video streams such as NBATV, which I watch quite frequently use Flash. Chrome handles this quite well, with no separate installs required.

Has anyone else encountered this? Not sure if I can pursue this issue further with Apple.

MacBook Air, OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.5)

Posted on Oct 7, 2013 3:53 PM

18 replies

Apr 30, 2017 1:38 AM in response to bugoy8

i had static in my audio output (lighting to HDMI) after osx update to sierra. internal speaker was fine and sometimes the audio would fix itself if i plugged in headphones or opened new windows but the issue would suddenly happen again in the middle of a video. strange thing was Firefox was fine. Just Chrome was affected.

what fixed it for me was changing the "Audio MIDI Setup" . under the HDMI section i had to chage the Format: to

8ch 24 bit interger 96.0 kHz. anything above that gave me static over the audio issue.

Hope this helps someone.

Oct 15, 2013 3:43 PM in response to bugoy8