Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Adding a template style page in Pages 5

Can anyone help me please?

I have upgraded to Pages 5.0 and not only are there far fewer interesting templates for me to start working from (I am looking particularly in the Newsletters section) but I am also having a problem adding template styled pages to a new project.

Previously I simply clicked on Insert > Pages in the menu and then selected the layout. I can't seem to find how to do this in 5.0 - all I can do is create a blank section.

I'm sure I must be missing something really obvious but I can't figure out what it is!

Regards, Peter

PS is there any way to upgrade to Pages 5.0 but not lose the decent (interesting) templates? I'm a school teacher and the kids love having interesting templates to start with - these new ones are terrible!

Pages 5.0-OTHER, OS X Mavericks (10.9)

Posted on Oct 22, 2013 6:55 PM

20 replies

Oct 22, 2013 7:11 PM in response to Irish Pete 79

I'm having the same issue, I feel as though a lot of features maybe missing from Pages 5 as of right now. I'm trying to add a premade section and that features isn't available either. The fact that you can't customize the toolbar or even control click on your pages for duplicating, copying a page, cutting a page, etc is a huge deal breaker to me.

Oct 22, 2013 10:49 PM in response to Irish Pete 79

I've found I can still pretty much use Pages the same way (with the exception of customizing the tool bar), and I can still do all the same things (there's even a few nice extra features) .... BUT... the templates!!!! What happened to all the wonderful old templates I loved! 😠😢

I also see what juicy means about duplicating and copying.

I still have the old version of Pages and I think I'll keep using that until this new version of Pages is updated and/or fixed!

Oct 23, 2013 8:07 AM in response to Irish Pete 79