Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Macbook Air with 1TB SSD

Hi

Does anybody know if a 1TB SSD from the newest Macbook Pro 13" fit into the newest Macbook Air?

I love my mackbook Air, but for my job as a photographer I need more space. I alos work with programs that build my pictutres and they already need about 150GB space as scratch disk.

So my 500 SSD Air is always on a limit and even on a production I have to always have a drive to store extra data/swap it from the macbook air.

This data is about 300GB per prduction.

So a 1TB Air would be just fine. But cant buy it at apple :-(

Does anybody know?

Then I buy a 13" 1TB and swap the drives.

I do not need a fast mashine, I got an iMac for the hard work at home.

Thank you,

R*

MacBook Air (13-inch Mid 2013), OS X Mavericks (10.9.1), SSD Upgrade

Posted on Dec 22, 2013 12:46 PM

84 replies

Dec 22, 2013 1:13 PM in response to Kappy

And SSD is solid state, so are the new flash-drives. They are SSD´s but conected to the PCI-Bus, not to a SATA-Bridge. (most SSDs use NAND-based flash memory)

They are made by Samsung, and they have not yet released them to the public and I do not know if they will..

But that is not the question. Thes are detachable, and I just whant to know if they fit/work. They definilty have the same architecture in them I just do not know if apple put a specific driver in it that will not make it work in an Air or if the conector is a different one.

Dec 22, 2013 5:31 PM in response to Paz.americano

If you look at a teardown of an MBA (or an MBP with Flash) they are not removable without soldering them off the logic board and soldering new ones on. They are NOT drives and there is no drive bay.