Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Newsroom Update

Apple is introducing a new Apple Watch Pride Edition Braided Solo Loop, matching watch face, and dynamic iOS and iPadOS wallpapers as a way to champion global movements to protect and advance equality for LGBTQ+ communities. Learn more >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

5s phone uses too much data

I am new to IPhone however when I compare my usage to other iPhone users it's definitely excessive. I'm on wifi at work all day so only use my phone at night time and on weekends. My usage easily goes up to 3gigs per month if not more. I do not download videos or large attachments. I mostly use the internet to browse news websites or Facebook. My background refresh and my automatic updates have been turned off. I constantly monitor my usage and make sure I've closed my apps or browser. A friend has also reported excessive use when she upgraded to 5s. She spent $600 last month and says her previous bill was usually under $100. Other friends on I phone (not the 5s) report their data usage to be around 500mb - 1gig. There is definitely something not right with the amount of data I am using. Please help? Really not happy with my iPhone account at the moment:(

iPhone 5s

Posted on Apr 8, 2014 8:39 AM

24 replies

Apr 8, 2014 8:54 AM in response to Julz100

You can identify and track what is using the cellular data by going to Settings > Cellular and look at the list of apps in the section titled "Use Cellular Data For." Apps that have used data since you last reset the statistics will show the amount used under the app name. Also if you tap on "System Services" in that section it will give details of which services are using data. Watching those numbers should help you identify the source of the usage. You can resest the statistics at any time at the bottom of the same screen.

Apr 9, 2014 2:24 PM in response to FoxFifth