Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

WD My Passport for Mac won't mount on my Mac Pro

My 1TB external hard drive is less than six months old and was working fine; now won't mount on my Mac. I don't remember disconnecting it without ejecting it but I do think I got a message about needing to eject before disconnecting. I checked in the forum for a possible solution and tried connecting it to a PC laptop; I could see it to eject it but it didn't show up anywhere else. I am not a computer expert! How can I access my files? I have a Mac Pro, Mac OS X ver. 10.6.8.

Mac Pro, Mac OS X (10.5)

Posted on Aug 8, 2014 3:12 AM

23 replies

Jul 3, 2017 8:48 AM in response to natitafur

Dear natifur,

Allow me a comment based on wanting you to get the best possible help possible here: The question was asked almost three years ago and the OP's profile shows she has not been active in a long time.

It is always best to start a new thread in these forums so you get full attention without diluting help the OP deserves. Some experienced helpers will not respond to "tag-ons" like yours because it is so hard to help multiple users in a single thread. Surprising, "exact same problem" seldom exists once we run down all the symptoms and causes.

So you can start your own thread in the forum area that matches your Mac computer model. Also, pretty much all you need to know about the WD drive issue was already posted in this thread. Go back and give my response of 8 Aug 2014 a read, trying the suggestions. If that does not get you working again, then by all means start a new thread including full details of your Mac, its sub-model, and its Mac OSX version. Historically we are not very good at guessing! 😉

AJ

Jul 3, 2017 9:37 AM in response to Allan Jones

Thank you so much!

I'm now looking for a powered USB Hub and a "Y" cable as you recommended on your comment.