Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Mid 2014 15" Retina Macbook Pro Bootcamp Windows 8.1

Okay, so this is part question and part rant.

The question part: Has anyone successfully installed windows 8.1 in bootcamp on a mid2014 Macbook pro?

The rant part:
This new macbook is awesome. Everything is great. Except that apple needs to get their $h1t together on this bootcamp crap. I am an engineer. It is a sad world that we live in, and there is little I can do to change it, but as of right now, Microshaft owns the corporate world. Software for engineering is developed for winblows. Hopefully that will someday change, but for now I have to put up with it.

I purchased this brand new macbook with the understanding that I would have to install winblows on it, and with the understanding that I would spend about half of my time there. This is not choice, it is necessity. When I purchased this computer I did so because I was reassured that windows would run well in a dual boot.

5 hours of my time has been wasted trying to make that a reality. Currently, I am sitting here watching my mac reinstall Mavericks after being forced to wipe the entire drive due to incompatibility bullpoop.

So far I have tried:

1. Letting bootcamp do it's thing. This resulted in a near perfect installation, followed by a notification that the boot configuration could not be updated. great.
  2. booting again and trying to format the partition with winblows. Winblows cannot install because of the GPT setup.
  3. delete partition leaving blank space, boot in efi, and then allow windows to make the partition. This resulted in windows making 2 partitions (so far so good) and getting all the way to the end before letting me know that I am right back to trial 1 and it cannot update the boot configuration.
    1. So I go into mac to delete these two partitions. The main one deletes, and the little one wont.