Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Ios8: safari closes keyboard after first letter entered in google search box. Why? Not helpful apple.

Open a new tab in Safari, go to google.

(I use a link on my favourites bookmarks list to do this - ios8 seems to have lost the option to open a new tab with a chosen home page)

keyboard pops up to start typing search into, but closes after only one character has been entered.

have to select the google search box to reopen keyboard to continue typing.

this is a pain, isn't it?

anyone else having this problem?

iPad, iOS 8

Posted on Sep 27, 2014 3:02 AM

83 replies

Sep 27, 2014 4:59 AM in response to stedman1

Yes, as I said, done all the usual "cures" (I'm an Apple veteran since system 7!' who usually sorts out friends' problems!) apart from a complete restore, but that was carried out during the ios8 install.

Obviously it's not the worst problem on earth, just slightly annoying, and it does only affect going straight to a Google search in a new Safari tab.

Thanks for your help btw.

Sep 27, 2014 7:58 AM in response to A Bottersnike

Playing around with this, i think it is landscape mode and opening google from a bookmark tab that does it.

In portrait mode or opening google from an icon, you have to select the text entry box first, which brings up the keyboard.

In landscape it seems to jump to text entry, then drop out because you haven't actually tapped in the box yet.

IN the meantime, ios8: safari again, anyone know how to get the 'open in ibooks or... ' tab to reappear when reading a pdf?

It only pops up for a moment and i have no idea how to get it to come back, other than by reloading the page

ALso, anyone notice a problem with autocaps now? Doesn't seem to know when to come on after after punctuation,

then stays on for two letters when selected manually.

NIggling little things like this make it less of a pleasure Apple!

PLease fix!