Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Yosemite compatibility with microsoft word 2008

I had held off on upgrading to Mavericks because of the issues surrounding the compatibility with Microsoft Word 2008. I am a student and need to use Word to do my work as well as having all of my current documents, including my thesis, in 2008 format. I don't want to risk losing the information or the ability to do my work and I was wondering if there is any information about whether the issue of compatibility with this version had been fixed. I don't have the means to buy a new version of Microsoft but would very much like to be able to update my system since I am still using Mountain Lion.

Posted on Oct 17, 2014 10:35 PM

22 replies

Oct 18, 2014 3:06 PM in response to leroydouglas

Hi Leroy -- you seem to know what you're talking about but I just wanted to confirm; your old copy of Word 2008 worked OK after you did the Yosemite upgrade? As I recall, I found last time that it *didn't* work if I did a clean install and tried to add the program again, but it worked fine if I pulled the old docs and applications off a backup. Does that make sense? I'm not sure if it was Mavericks or my new Air, though.

bill

Oct 21, 2014 1:52 PM in response to Genuinely Scary

I just upgraded toYosemite on my Mac air, and all my 2008 version Word .docx documents have lost formatting and come up all in miniature with a strange work face. I agree this was very scary, as I'm working on dissertation. Luckily, documents were stored in dropbox so I can access on my computer running Mountain Lion, but this needs to be fixed!!! I would be fine with buying the new version of Word if that would solve the problem, but others can't do this. I'm sending Apple a message--hope the rest of you having difficulties do too.

Oct 21, 2014 2:24 PM in response to kathryn1515