Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Pages update 5.5.3 for Mac details

Does anyone know where I might find details about the content of the latest Pages for Mac 5.5.3 update?

I don't want to commit to it until I know what it contains, from past experience there can be nasty surprises.

e.g. loss of auto-capitalisation.

Posted on Apr 26, 2015 6:28 PM

23 replies

Apr 28, 2015 5:02 AM in response to drowningindata

The first few reviews are TERRIBLE, listing features stripped out in 5.5.3, presumably in the race to make a MacBook into a folding iPad.

Obviously these are from a small number of self-selected individuals, but in view of your concern you really do need more information before committing.

I've decided not to take the update.

I'm new to Apple, and was just about getting used to Pages 5's little quirks, but my gut feeling is that I'll be back on MS Word one day. Not yet, though - I believe there's a big upgrade due. Let's hope it is Up and not Down.

David

Apr 28, 2015 8:12 AM in response to PeterBreis0807

Good points, Peter.

Yes, I have certainly heard that people haven't been happy with any version of Pages 5, compared with Pages '09.

However I'm referring to the Review page in the App Store in which most responders are even unhappier with Pages 5.5.3 than they were with whatever release they were using last week. I'm not an expert on this, just remarking that these reviews IMPLY a further downgrading of Pages in 5.5.3.

Could be time to make sure we've all got Bootable Images of our drives, folks.

Regarding a new version of Word for Mac, I've been in IT far too long to trust my Feelings :-)

I confess that all I know is that I just downloaded a Beta Preview of Office for Mac 2016 from:

http://products.office.com/en-US/mac/mac-preview