Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Windows 10 keeps crashing using Bootcamp

Today i decided to install Windows 10 using Bootcamp. All went well and setup went smoothly. Once Windows 10 was installed, I installed the Support Software which I downloaded from the Bootcamp Assistant.

Now since installing the Support Software, Windows 10 has been crashing within the first few minutes (if even that) of starting up. Now and again, a black and white zig zag pattern will appear on screen. I'm no expert but because of this, I'm thinking this could be a graphics driver problem?

I'm also wondering if the Support Software I downloaded is up to date. Bootcamp Assistant says that it will download the latest version, but I'm still doubtful whether it's an up to date version and if I'd be better off downloading it from the Apple website.

I have a Mid 2012 MacBook Pro 15-inch running Yosemite 10.10.3

2.3 GHz Intel Core i7 Processor

10 GB 1600 MHz DDR3 RAM

Intel HD Graphics 4000 1024 MB Graphics

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks.

MacBook Pro, OS X Yosemite (10.10.3), null

Posted on Aug 18, 2015 2:29 PM

26 replies

Aug 19, 2015 5:12 AM in response to Wells190

I'm having a similar problem.

2010 Mac Pro tower with non-EFI gfx card.

Windows 7 happily updated to Windows 10. Used it for a couple of weeks, until I decided to re-install the Bootcamp software so I could scroll on my Apple Magic Mouse.

Now it will give me a 😟 sad face BSOD after a minute or two. Incredibly, Windows 10 didn't make a system restore point for me to roll back to, so I am not sure what my next step is. Hopefully, I can get safe mode working.

Aug 19, 2015 6:23 AM in response to Loner T

At the moment I can't get Windows 10 to even start up. The logo appears but after that, just a black screen and after a while it looks as if my screen has turned off completely and I'm forced to hold down the power button to restart.