Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Should I have external IP in the DNS page ?

Hello everyone,

I am new to Mac OS X Server, v5 on a Mac mini.

I am trying to set up an internet connected server, behind a router.

As I need to use Open directory, I am trying to configure correctly the DNS. I own a .com domain, and the dns resolving seems to be ok from outside (tested with whatsmydns or same kind of website).

From the inside, host command works well in with internal IP and domain name.

But there is still something that seems weird to me. I do have my external IP on the Internet accessibility box, but I still have my internal IP on the DNS page.

Shouldn't I see the external IP here ?

Mac mini, OS X Server, El Capitan

Posted on Oct 25, 2015 12:46 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Oct 25, 2015 2:30 PM

Your internal network will use internal addresses. If you don't do that, then your traffic will pass via your firewall.

I'd either use a subdomain of your registered domain, or use a second registered domain, for your internal DNS translations.

I'd not try to use the same domain name inside and out.

Mixing internal and external addresses and using the same domain name with authoritative servers within two pools of DNS servers — within your network, and the public DNS servers — is possible, but it also means you get to track any changes to the public DNS in your private DNS, and it means you'll need a firewall that can "reflect" traffic to your public IP address back into your network.

You're not likely going to have Open Directory accessible outside your network, as well.

Some DNS reading...

I may receive some form of compensation, financial or otherwise, from my recommendation or link.

<Edited by Host>

20 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Oct 25, 2015 2:30 PM in response to Lastouille