Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

"Your username or password is incorrect" except it isn't

I'm trying to set up icloud email on an android device. I have entered all of the imap info correctly. Howeve, I keep getting the message that my username or password is incorrect. I have tried dropping the @icloud.com as suggested. I have also tried it with @icloud.com and @me.com and @mac.com. Each time I get the incorrect username or password. I am absolutely using the correct password as well as username. What is wrong? I am a resident of the US with an iPhone, MacBook Air and iPad. However, I travel extensively to the UK and recently purchased a UK pay-as-you-go android phone. Can that have anything to do with it?

Posted on Apr 18, 2016 4:30 AM

16 replies

Jun 3, 2017 9:49 PM in response to PG-th

No, but it is in the Apple Support Articles for Two-Step Verification and Two-Factor Authentication:

From the Two-Step support article: Two-step verification for Apple ID - Apple Support

How do I sign in to my account using an app that doesn't support entering two-step verification codes?

You can generate an app-specific password from your Apple ID account page and enter it into the password field of the app that you want to sign in to. This allows you to sign in securely even if the app you’re using doesn’t support entering verification codes. For example, you might use an app-specific password to sign in to iCloud using a third-party email, address book, or calendar app.

If you want to generate an app-specific password, sign in to your Apple ID account page. In the Security section, click Edit > Generate Password.

Learn more about app-specific passwords.