Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Microsoft Office 2008 not working after MacOS Sierra Update

Hi,

I am trying to solve a problem that I've noticed over the past couple of days. I recently updated to MacOS Sierra and have not been able to make Microsoft Office open. Each time I click on any office program I get the message "Microsoft Office cannot open because of a problem."

I have a late 2012 MacBook Air with 128GB hard drive and 31GB of free space. I have never had an issue with Microsoft office until now. I have tried everything I could find online to fix it; Safe Boot, trying to delete auto recovery, restarting and shutting down my Mac. I am wary of uninstalling and then reinstalling as I am not sure I have the code I used to install it in the first place. I have some knowledge of computers but I cannot find a solution.

Any help you could give me would be awesome!

User uploaded file

User uploaded file

User uploaded file

MacBook Air (13-inch Mid 2012), macOS Sierra (10.12)

Posted on Sep 28, 2016 6:21 PM

17 replies

Sep 29, 2016 10:16 AM in response to eabolt

Restart in Safe Boot mode. This process disables the Microsoft fonts. If Word works in Safe Boot, then we can look at repairing your fonts.

Safe boot

* shutdown

* start the Mac and *wait* for the startup chime to sound

* after the sound, press and hold down the shift key

* keep holding and *wait* until the grey  Apple logo appears

* now release the shift key and just wait (it could take a few minutes)

* eventually the login screen appears with the words SAFE BOOT in the top right of the window

* continue to login to see if the problem goes away.

You do know that Office 2008 is "end of life". Microsoft does not support Office 2008. Office 2011 support ends October 10, 2017.