Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Can Xserve do this?

I am a newbie with computer terminology so these questions might not be asked correctly. Hopefully it will be good enough to decipher to answer my questions. I have a perfect working Xserve that I don't want to get rid of installed into a custom rack built by XRackPro by GizMac. My question is if I connect two or more Xserve together will it mean my CPU power has increase that would allow for task to be accomplished much more faster? I am going to be doing Bitcoin mining and I am deciding if I should buy all new computers designed specifically for Bitcoin mining, accompanied with compatible fans, and rack; this will cost me $6000 or more. My second choice is to buy more Xserves, accompanied with compatible fans and, memory that would cost me around $2000 -$2500.

If I buy more than one Xserve, should they all have the same CPU rating?

Mac Pro 8 core 2.93ghz, Mac OS X (10.6.6), Xserve Dual 3.0ghz, Quick Silver G4 900ghz, IPhone 4, IPod Nano

Posted on Oct 23, 2018 6:41 AM

Similar questions

3 replies

Oct 23, 2018 9:23 AM in response to fltrplrlx

Pragmatically, what you're doing is attempting to guess a large numeric value, and your computer is issuing a whole lot of guesses to try to find that answer. The whole guessing process—what's called "mining"—is entirely bound by the speed of your processor, or the speed of your co-processor when you have additional computing hardware present. At how many guesses your processor can make. The faster your processors and the more processors you have, the more guesses your configuration can attempt.

Dedicated mining systems are far faster at this guessing than any rigs based on Intel Xeon or Core processors, too. Far, far, far faster.

Xserve is far too old and far too slow and far too power-hungry to make an effective mining rig. And it's loud.