Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Captions not showing! Greyed out in Timeline Index

Help! I have never used FCP X before and using a trial now.

Please could you help with my captions? I have a format that I can copy from however, the captions just wont show up at all. I have tried both copying the format and also creating new captions.

1. View > Timeline viewer shows captions as GREYED OUT.

Sorry, all this is incredibly confusing and counter-intuitive to what I am used to. Please can anyone advise on what to do? I am supposed to get this work done over the weekend but I can't even get started.

For further information

2. This is what the Roles section look like

3.This is what the Captions section look like

Am I missing something here? Does the FCP X trial support all features? Thank you for any thoughts.

Posted on Mar 30, 2019 12:11 PM

Similar questions

7 replies

Mar 31, 2019 6:32 AM in response to Tom Wolsky

Hi Tom

Thank you - it works now. One more question... could you (or anyone) advise on how to format the subtitles according to the sample that was given me?

The sample provided was a title, so I'm not able to copy it over to captions. I'm also not able to change the font type or style directly in my own captions. Please see below:

1) Sample given (Helvetica font, 50pt and it's white with black borders)

2) My captions (the menu looks different and there is no option to change font style etc)

Sorry for these basic questions, but is there an easy way to do this?

Apr 1, 2019 3:52 AM in response to space1014

Sorry but how do I apply a subtitles template?

This is what I've been told: