Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Could having multiple apps open at the same time in iOS’s App Switcher affect iPad performance?

As a newbie, I read in this forum, often and increasingly, of complaints about screen freezes or intermittent, unexpected lags in performance, particularly with iOS 12.2. But I’ve just had an ah-ha moment — doing something myself — making me want to ask: Could having multiple apps open at the same time in iOS’s App Switcher affect performance?

Our iPads are incredible fast machines, but even I have noticed unexpected lags at time — which I’ve always attributed to “processing” lags, rather than hardware and/or software defects. But it’s rather infrequent, and I’ve it little thought.

Sometimes, when I delete an email, for example, if I decide I want to take another look at it, and go to the trash, on occasion there’s a multi-seconds lag before it’ll even appear in the trash can. I’ve even thought of timing it, as it seems, sometimes, it could take nearly half a minute for it to, finally, show up...

And, most specifically, most who’ve reported these ‘problems/annoyances’ have said, I believe, that when they erased/deleted/reset things, everything was okay — at least for a little while.

Which only supports my wondering...

With the barest of research, this article says with iOS 11 and 12, the control center and app switcher merged to assist with multi-taking. Seemingly, the complaintants seem to express issues revolving around iOS 12.2.

Additionally, the article states, further on, that “there’s normally no need to close apps on iOS because Apple manages the device’s power needs and keeps apps from using resources when not in use...”.

https://www.macrumors.com/how-to/ipad-app-switcher-ios-11/