Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How to edit out an area of glare

Hi all I’m new to fcpx and still going through the ropes.

I recently shot some video for some friends to make a promotional video for them. What I didn’t realise was that one of the guitars had a terrible glare from its face and I’m just wondering if anybody has any ideas how I might get rid of it or can direct me to an appropriate tutorial

Thanks in advance Phil

Mac mini, macOS 10.14

Posted on Jul 5, 2019 8:01 PM

Similar questions

6 replies

Jul 6, 2019 2:16 AM in response to philfrommountain river

Here is a quick way to reduce the glare.

Don't expect perfection, but I think this will help.

There are probably other solutions, and I expect others will chime in.

I will use the color wheels, together a shape mask, so that the effect will only apply in the affected area and not the rest of the image.

1) Start by showing the scopes - always a good help when color correcting. Press command-7

That marked area hitting 100% corresponds to the very bright glare off of the guitar.

2) Open the Inspector (command-4) and add a new color correction. You can press command-6 to add a color correction, or click the colored prism at the top. Select Color Wheels. Add a shape mask:

3) Adjust the Shape Mask:

4) In the Highlights wheel at the right, drag the Luma way down:

It looks a little better. It did not magically disappear, of course, but it is not as intense as before.

There is still a peak close to 100% on the right, caused by the reflection on the tripod. You can add a second Shape Mask:

Jul 6, 2019 6:50 PM in response to philfrommountain river