Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Photos

This may be a dumb question, so forgive me, i’m a newbie to MacBook. I know I can move photos into different albums. But then the photo stays in the “photo” category, the one that has them in chronological order. Is that not duplicating the photo by putting one copy in the album, and having to keep one in the “photos”? Does it take up twice as much space? I’m having a problem with moving some of my photos to albums and then forgetting where I left off in “photos” because they HAVE to stay there.

MacBook

Posted on Aug 12, 2019 12:50 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Aug 12, 2019 2:37 AM

Photos is managing your photos like this:

• The main Photos view is always showing you all photos in your library. You can only remove a photo from "Photos" by deleting it.
  • When you create albums and add photos to albums, the albums are using the photos that are already stored in your library. The photos will not be duplicated by adding the to an album. You can add the photo to many albums without needing more storage. The albums are just like index cards showing you the photos organized in different ways.

If you want to see all photos that you did not yet add to an album in one place, a smart album can help.

• Use the command "File > New Smart Album". Set the rule to "Album is not any".

This smart album will show you all photos, that are not yet in any album. Then you can organize your photos from this album and find the photos quicker, that you may want to add to other albums.

Similar questions

2 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Aug 12, 2019 2:37 AM in response to JennyS0119

Photos is managing your photos like this:

• The main Photos view is always showing you all photos in your library. You can only remove a photo from "Photos" by deleting it.