Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

electric shock while charging

I have been using my iPhone XS Max for around 9 months. It was quite good the past months. However i felt there is a tingling sensation of electricity these few days when i touched the camera unit or the stainless steel part of the phone. Is this normal? I m using an iPad charger to charge my iPhone as it is quicker than the 5A one. I was told that the charger is perfectly fine for the phone. Any suggestion and solutions? Thanks.

Edit: Contacted Apple Support and they said this is an issue called Voltage On Enclosure and is completely normal but I feel pretty unfair to say those words as we spent over 1k to buy this phone and I was told this faulty is normal?

iPhone XS Max

Posted on Sep 6, 2019 11:49 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Sep 12, 2019 7:51 AM

That is what I've heard, I'm in the US, I'm pretty sure I have a UK 3 pronged plug from the world travel set, not sure where, but I know that particular plug didn't have the grounding pin connected.

Incidentally (or not), those plugs were recalled because the grounding pin broke off too easily, and apparently, the revised plugs aren't grounded either. It seems as though the only reason for the ground pin is made of metal is because it isn't as brittle as plastic.

You can tell if a wall adapter plug grounds MacBook/iPad charger fairly easily, I don't think I explained very well, but these pictures should make it clear.

The metal tab/disk/cam in this picture holds the wall plug in place, and is also the AC ground pin. It's coupled with the DC V- and EMI shielding inside the charger.

The grounded extension cord has metal tabs inside the slots that is connected with the ground conductor.