Newsroom Update

Tap to Pay on iPhone is now available in Canada. Learn more >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

iPhone 11 Rear Camera Glass (Bottom Lens)

I just bought an iPhone 11 on Sunday night. I have owned this phone for about 2.5 days. I traded in my Pixel 3 XL because I thought I would give Apple a shot since google would only offer me $260 for a trade-in for the new Pixel 4 whereas Apple gave me $300.

This morning while in class I noticed a small white smudge on my rear camera lens (bottom camera lens). I have had a MaxBoost mWallet Case on my iPhone since the day of purchase. The white smudge on the bottom rear camera lens ended up being a small fracture. There is no other damage to the phone. Not even around the rim of the camera lens. I contacted Apple Support and they said it cracked due to the magnet/metal plate in the phone case. I have been repairing iPhones for 3+ years and have never heard of magnets shattering glass. I also have never dropped this phone and when placed in my pockets it remains separate from anything else in my pockets such as keys or my wallet. Here are the screenshots of my conversation with the Apple Technician.

https://imgur.com/a/hJo2NWM

I have been researching this as best as I could and couldn't find anything related but I came across this

https://9to5mac.com/2019/09/23/iphone-11-drop-tests/

Even an 11-foot drop test the only thing that was damaged was the Rear Camera itself - no glass damage.

I took it to the Apple Store near me and they agreed they were not sure how it cracked but they said the only option was to pay $399. $399 for the REAR CAMERA GLASS?! They then said I could purchase AppleCare+ for $149 + $99 for a new device because they do not repair the Rear Camera Glass. Yet, if you have a broken display & AppleCare+ a replacement is $29 plus tax. So a $0.10 cent piece of glass is more expensive than an iPhone 11 display?

iPhone 11, iOS 13