Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Delete Pictures under "/System/Library/Desktop Pictures" MacOS Catalina. MacBookPro.

The Pictures folder at "/System/Library/Desktop Pictures" has grown to an ABSURD 2.1GB, with several files like "Mojave Day.heic" reaching 287MB, among others.

I DO need to free up space in my SSD. I don't need any of these files, my background is a solid black. Period.

I tried sudo in a terminal, and also tried changing the permissions in the folder "info" window, to no avail.

I am using a MacBook pro Early 2015, with MacOS Catalina 10.15.2 installed.

Please, let us know how to delete the files in that folder.

Thank you for your help.

MacBook Pro 13", macOS 10.15

Posted on Dec 12, 2019 1:16 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Dec 12, 2019 1:33 PM

an ABSURD 2.1GB,

Say what, 2.1 GB is not much at all (?)

You do not have r/w privileges on the /System

About the read-only system volume in macOS Catalina

You have full privledges in your user/home folder—here you can have at it.

How to free up storage space on your Mac - Apple Support

8 replies

Dec 12, 2019 2:20 PM in response to iar747

iar747 wrote:

Very disappointing, the handling of the issue and the responses from your team.
In programming we call a process that keeps growing out of control a memory leak. Here you have a folder that keeps growing to the GB level with useless unwanted junk files. That is just plain bad design, and even worst its your handling of the issue.
Best Regards.

You can make your voice heard here: Apple Feedback http://www.apple.com/feedback

Dec 12, 2019 1:58 PM in response to leroydouglas

Apple: You do not have r/w privileges on the /System

iar747: Thanks, I knew that. Still the question remains, how do you delete the files in this folder?

Apple: 2.1 GB is not much (?)