Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

All my music disappeared. No more library file. What the f happened??! Help please!

Hi. I'm a working musician so this issue is really important to me. I've combed through google search results and so far have been totally unable to find an answer or a modicum of one.

What happened: I opened my Music app and it was empty clean. I had over 350Gb or music on it and it's all gone, safe for the last album I imported (two days ago), and that U2 album Apple keeps shoving in our faces.

What I'm running: Catalina 10.15.2 on a 13in pro from mid-2012.

Notes: I haven't rebooted my macbook in at least a full week, but sometimes when I wake up, I can see that it must have rebooted by itself because the session is new. I've checked again and auto-update is definitely turned off, so it cannot be because of that.

Also, I am aware that Catalina screwed everybody when it killed iTunes off, but I've already been through my own purgatory to get a working library up and running on Music. Actually, since the upgrade, I've never had a single trouble with Music. It does what it's supposed to do. Well, it does screw up the Artwork thing but I can live with that. What I can't live with, is having lost all my work from these past two months –– I use the playlists organisation heavily for my original music.

Lastly, there's only a single "Music Library.musiclibrary" file in my "/Music" folder, last modified when I last closed my Music app (so five minutes ago), that one is useless. I've looked everywhere on the computer for any other file that would have been misplaced while I was sleeping but couldn't find any.