Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How can I quickly navigate to a folder path that I have on the clipboard in Open File dialogs?

Hello,

I am new to MacOS.

On Windows, I got used to easily change to a folder path that I previously copied to the clipboard in any file open dialog. How can I do it in MacOS (Mojave / Catalina)?

E.g.

1) I copied a folder path to clipboard in Commander One, e.g.:

/Users/myname/Library/Application Support/Firefox

2) Then I go to Text Edit > Open... and want to change to the path I have on the clipboard at once (e.g. /Users/myname/Library/Application Support/Firefox/) in the Open File dialog:

Thanks a lot in advance!

P.S. Please do not advise to open the file from the folder itself. I am seeking for a solution I can use even if I e.g. need to upload a file to a website in Safari, so I will have an Open File dialog there as well and I want to navigate to the folder on the clipboard at one.

MacBook Pro 13”, macOS 10.14

Posted on Jan 15, 2020 5:26 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jan 15, 2020 8:51 AM

Shift Command G in the Finder. Here you can copy and paste complete path:

This is a short cut from the drop down:

Finder>Go>Go to Folder

Get to know the Finder on your Mac - Apple Support

See and organize your files in the Finder on Mac - Apple ...

Use the Dock on Mac - Apple Support

4 replies

Jan 16, 2020 1:22 AM in response to GyozoK

As others have commented there's nothing that will exactly mirror your experience on Windows.

However there are alternatives.

1 - When in an open-save dialog box, go back to the Finder and drag the file or folder you want to go to, into the open-save dialog box - it will then jump to that file or folder.

2 - There's an app called 'Default Folder X' that adds lots of options to open-save dialog boxes, one of which is a drop down that shows your current open Finder windows, which I find very useful.