Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Moving a Discontinued App from Old iPad to New?

So, I have an app, iBrew Master 2, on my old iPad. It is no longer available in the App Store. It still works fine on the old iPad. Is there a way to move the app from the old device to my new one? I tried doing a backup to iTunes of the old one and a restore to the new one, but it still tries to find it in the App Store and won’t let me use it.

Any suggestions? Thanks.

iPad, 13

Posted on Mar 13, 2020 8:11 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Mar 13, 2020 8:20 AM

The only way that you can restore that app now is if you already had it in your iTunes library on your computer. iTunes will no longer transfer apps to your library, but if it was already in there, you could connect to iTunes and then drag the app from the iTunes media folder onto your device.

Manually manage content on your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch using iTunes - Apple Support

3 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Mar 13, 2020 8:20 AM in response to Lyttuch

The only way that you can restore that app now is if you already had it in your iTunes library on your computer. iTunes will no longer transfer apps to your library, but if it was already in there, you could connect to iTunes and then drag the app from the iTunes media folder onto your device.

Manually manage content on your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch using iTunes - Apple Support

Mar 13, 2020 8:25 AM in response to Lyttuch

There is no method by which you can directly transfer an App between iPadOS/iOS devices.