Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How to Edit An Imported Audio File In GB

I am new to GB and just want to do basic editing of old cassette tape conversations between family members. I have spent untold hours learning GB on YouTube and via the community ... community feedback has been excellent. Here is what I am learning to do:

• Raise and lower the voice levels
  • Reduce / eliminate some mild background hiss
  • Speed-up and slow-down the audio by 10-15% in certain segments / regions
  • Enhance voice quality / sharpness (need to improve chipmunk voice in a few areas)

With all I have learned, I still can't get tempo adjustments for certain regions to stick. Is this because I did not record the tapes directly into GB, but instead recorded them from a tape recorder / player with a USB port onto a thumb drive, then imported the audio file from the thumb drive into GB? If this is the issue, can I still make my desired edits (see above), but must I take a different approach? Bottom line - Is there a difference in editing when the audio is imported directly into GB vs. when the audio is imported as an audio file?

I am using a Mac - V 10.15.3, with GarageBand - V 10.3.4.

Thank you,

HDP

iMac Line (2012 and Later)

Posted on Apr 12, 2020 6:56 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Apr 12, 2020 7:12 AM

Are you using GarageBand 10? In GarageBand 10 it is no longer possible to change the tempo of a a track with an audio file. Only the older GarageBand '11, version 6.0,5 offered the possibility to convert audio files into recorded loops.

If you want to be able to change the tempo and pitch of a recording, you have to record it to an audio track and not import an audio file. Or turn the audio file into a loop and add it from the Loop Browser.

You can only enable "Follow tempo and pitch" to recorded regions, not to audio files.

Similar questions

5 replies