Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

NEW MacBook Air (purchased in 2020) shuts down randomly

I purchased a MBA in like late February and in the last few weeks it has shut down randomly a few times. What's that about? Since everything is virtual and I am a teacher I can't afford to have an unreliable setup. One of the shutdowns was during a Zoom class. :(

Thanks for any help!

MacBook Air 13", macOS 10.15

Posted on Apr 18, 2020 2:06 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jun 22, 2020 8:54 PM

Hi Brenden. I've had this issue since I bought my new Air 2020 a couple of months ago. Maybe once every 10 days. Just freezes for 10 seconds, wooosh, and then black. Does not restart itself, but restarts if you hit the "touch id" button as normal. No report whatsoever upon restart. It's like the machine doesn't even know that it crashed. Surely there must be somewhere you can point us to get diagnostics for Apple? The "woosh" is entirely unique to this situation so somebody at Apple knows what triggers the woosh, right? Safe mode, however, is not a good diagnostic tool for something that happens rarely. We can't all live our lives in safe mode, and even if we do, what next? What does it crashing or not crashing in safe mode tell us to do next? Thanks. This is an incredibly terrible situation for those of us doing mission critical projects with our brand new machines. Allan

42 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Jun 22, 2020 8:54 PM in response to brenden dv