Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Pages missing part of a document

I am new to using Pages on macOS (though I've used it a lot in iOS). I've got a long document (500+ pages) and I'm experiencing an issue where part of some paragraphs are disappearing between the page breaks, making it look like something was deleted. The text is still there; I can select the area before and after the page break and when I copy and paste, the missing text is right where it should be, but I can't find a way to make the document show these missing lines between the page breaks. I was able to copy and paste the entire document to a new document which seems to have fixed the problem for now, but I'm concerned that it will happen again. Anyone know of a more permanent fix for this?

I'm using the 2020 MacBook Air with the i3 processor, and both the MacBook and Pages are fully up to date.

MacBook Air 13", macOS 10.15

Posted on May 2, 2020 9:57 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on May 3, 2020 2:39 PM

Hello Nevermore1001, 

Welcome to the Apple Support Communities. Congratulations on your new MacBook Air! I understand that you have encountered an issue where a large document was not appearing correctly in Pages on your Mac. I use Pages a lot myself, so I'm happy to help. 

Copying and pasting the text into another document was a great step to take; and one that I thought of while reading your message. Saving this new document and using it moving forward would be the steps I would take with my own documents. 

If the issue reoccurs, you can see if the file opens on another device, and see how it appears there. You can also save the document as a PDF, and open it in Preview to see if the issue persists, or if it may just be the way Pages is displaying the document at that moment.