Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

login user via terminal

Hi all, I am trying to get into my iMac (MacOs 10.13) remotely.

First of all: I am not experienced in working from Terminal.

I am connected via Terminal and ssh, can see lists etc., so the computer is running and accessible.

What I would like to do, is login as user, and see and control my remote desktop. I have not yet activated screen sharing on the remote computer. If I understand that right, once this is activated, I could run my remote computer via VNC.

(My normal operation would be to ask somebody to start the computer and login a user, and then use TeamViewer to see the remote computer. TeamViewer is installed and does launch upon user login. But our university is closed at the moment).

From Terminal I cannot start applications with the open command, probably, because no user is logged in.:

open -a MyProg.app

my try:

open -a TextEdit.app

LSOpenURLsWithRole() failed for the application /Applications/TextEdit.app with error -610.

it would be nice, if I could open -a TeamViewer.app, if I understand that correctly, but that doesn't work either

So my questions:

1. How can I login a user remotely via Terminal/ssh ?
  2. How can I start an application on the remote computer, if no user is logged in?

Thanks for any advise,

Georg

iMac 21.5", macOS 10.13

Posted on May 16, 2020 11:25 PM

Similar questions

5 replies

May 17, 2020 8:42 AM in response to BobHarris

Dear Bob,

thank you for the quick and extensive reply.

I am sure this will help, but now my computer in the office is off. I scheduled start-up and shut-down, so it will only start up tomorrow morning (German time).

Both are Macs, both OSX 10.13.