Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Retrieving data from an airport time capsule

My airport time capsule received a surge through the Ethernet connection and seems to be dead. Is there any way to retrieve the data on the hard drive within the airport time capsule?

Posted on Aug 2, 2020 12:41 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Aug 2, 2020 3:02 PM

Thank you so much. I am a retired computer systems developer and I have been working with Apple products and other PCs since the Apple II and IBM PC. The drive from the Time Capsule is a Seagate Barracuda. We have a MakerSpace here in Greencastle Indiana with several savy guys that I think can help me pull the data off the drive if it is still ion running condition.

12 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Aug 2, 2020 3:02 PM in response to Bob Timmons

Thank you so much. I am a retired computer systems developer and I have been working with Apple products and other PCs since the Apple II and IBM PC. The drive from the Time Capsule is a Seagate Barracuda. We have a MakerSpace here in Greencastle Indiana with several savy guys that I think can help me pull the data off the drive if it is still ion running condition.

Aug 2, 2020 2:54 PM in response to edwardfromgreencastle

When you mentioned that the Time Capsule appeared to be "dead", I took that to mean that there was no power to the device, so the Time Capsule really was "most sincerely dead".*

However, if there is still power to the unit, then one of the other Ethernet LAN ports might be working. In that case, the Time Capsule may only be "mostly dead". That's different from being "all dead" since "mostly dead is slightly alive".**

• The Wizard of Oz
  • The Princess Bride

Aug 2, 2020 12:47 PM in response to edwardfromgreencastle