Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Cut Away to Photo while audio keeps playing

Hi there,

I am just learning about the ins and outs of iMovie, and as I have a project deadline I am in great need of help.

The idea is that I want to record a video and I want the original audio from the clip to keep playing while I cut away to photos and other video footage. Then I want the clip to come back to the original video where the subject is speaking and obviously I want the video and audio to stay in sync. I wonder what's the most effective way of doing this?

I can see that there's an option to drag and drop photos above the video track in which case it will cut to the added image, but if I want to add multiple images they won't transition into each other directly (it will briefly cut back to the original video before switching to the next image). Also, I found a video of this on Youtube but it's from 2014 and I'm using iMovie 10.1.14 which might have got many updates since then.

I hope I explained everything clearly.

Thank you very much in advance for your help!

Posted on Aug 4, 2020 4:05 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Aug 5, 2020 8:24 AM

Unfortunately iMovie will not let you add transitions to clips in the upper timeline. If you put your cursor over a clip in the upper timeline that will reveal fade handles in the upper corners of the clip that you can use to apply a fade in or fade out, or both. You can move each slider individually by holding down the Option key. However, the problem with this is that as the fade cuts in it will reveal the clip in the lower timeline. You can try it to confirm.