Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

“File_Name.numbers” is damaged and can’t be opened.

I've been using a large iCloud Numbers spreadsheet for 5 years and updating it across all devices. I update it multiple times daily without any problems...until today. It will no longer open on any device and displays “file name.numbers is damaged and can’t be opened." I have multiple spreadsheets that continue to work properly, but this particular one (extremely important) is completely inaccessible. I've tried opening previous versions with no success...all versions display the same message.

Please advise.

Posted on Aug 21, 2020 11:35 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Aug 22, 2020 1:07 PM

Thanks again Badunit.

"Versions" of the file that were automatically saved when data was added to the file. You can access archived versions from the file tab or in this case, from the dialogue box that appears while trying to open the file (see screen shots below). You can also see the "versions" timeline for the "damaged" file in the larger screen shot below. Every version I attempt to open displays "damaged and can't be opened" or "unable to open version."

This is crazy...I've stored Numbers spreadsheets in the Cloud for years, but have never encountered this "damaged and can't be opened" scenario before. Again, this file will not open on any device...iMac, MacBook, iPad Pro, iPhone X, or straight from iCloud opened in Safari. Before yesterday, it would open on all of the above devices.

4 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Aug 22, 2020 1:07 PM in response to Badunit

Thanks again Badunit.