Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Internal NVIDIA graphics card with AMD eGPU

Hi!

I have a 2013 iMac with an NVIDIA GeForce GTX 780M 4GB graphics card. I've researched that this brand is no longer supported by the latest OS updates and that may be the reason why I can't use it for editing or CUDA acceleration??(I'm very new to this so please bare with me if that also isn't correct and if anyone can explain this that would be great as well). Question is, if I get an eGPU like an AMD one will this work with an already present NVIDIA card in my computer?

v

Posted on Aug 27, 2020 4:08 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Aug 27, 2020 4:55 AM

An eGPU requires Thunderbolt 3. Your iMac does not support Thunderbolt 3. That is the only connection fastest enough for the graphics/video data. Here is Apple’s Support document on support and use of an eGPU,

https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT208544

If you need faster graphics than your 2013 iMac, your best bet will be the new 2020 iMac. As an alternative you could look into an Apple Refurbished iMac that has Thunderbolt 3.

9 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Aug 27, 2020 4:55 AM in response to versia

An eGPU requires Thunderbolt 3. Your iMac does not support Thunderbolt 3. That is the only connection fastest enough for the graphics/video data. Here is Apple’s Support document on support and use of an eGPU,

https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT208544

If you need faster graphics than your 2013 iMac, your best bet will be the new 2020 iMac. As an alternative you could look into an Apple Refurbished iMac that has Thunderbolt 3.

Aug 27, 2020 6:58 AM in response to Jeff Donald

It's not that simple.

Thunderbolt 1: 10Gbps + 1x Display Port 1.1 channel

Thunderbolt 2: 20Gbps of combined data + video;

• Max 1x Display Port 1.2 Channel
  • Max 16Gbps data (PCIe 2.0x4)

Thunderbolt 3: 40Gbps of combined data + video