Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

safari reducing available memory

My iMac is running Catalina 10.15.7. I am getting a f.txt automatically downloading and running. Malwarebytes detects no problems. MyPhysical memory is 24GB, but the amount of memory used quickly increases over half an hour to over 20Gb causing impaired performance. Closing Safari and reloading resorts back to low memory use which then starts to increase again. Any help greatly appreciated. P.S. I am not a techie so treat me like an idiot when replying. Regards Perplexed Safari

Posted on Sep 25, 2020 10:30 AM

Similar questions

10 replies

Sep 25, 2020 1:31 PM in response to PerplexedSafari

Download and run Etrecheck. Etrecheck is a diagnostic tool that was developed by one of the most respected users here in the ASC and recommended by Apple Support  to provide a snapshot of the system and help identify the more obvious culprits that can adversely affect a Mac's performance.

Copy the report

and use the Add Text button to include the report in your reply. How to use the Add Text Feature When Posting Large Amounts of Text, i.e. an Etrecheck Report

IMPORTANT:

Before running Etrecheck assign Full Disk Access to Etrecheck in the Etrecheck's Privacy preference pane so that it can get additional information from the Console and log files for the report:

Also click and read the About info to further permit full disk access.

Then we can examine the report and see if we can determine what might be causing the problem.

Sep 30, 2020 9:57 AM in response to PerplexedSafari

Booting into Safe Mode is always a good tool for fixing problems. Starting your Mac in safe mode does the following:

• Verifies your startup disk and attempts to repair directory issues, if needed

• Loads only required kernel extensions

• Prevents Startup Items and Login Items from opening automatically