Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How to change name of file with AppleScript

Hi All

I’m looking for help regarding a simple apple script. But I'm new to this and is stuck..

The purpose of the script is to change a preferences file, and open a software app.

I ran into a problem when I try to get the script to rename a file.

I need to use POSIX due to this is supposed to be a generic script, and the files are located in the users folder.

I use exactly the same structure as this example to duplicate and delete a fil, that works fine.

But it doesn't workwhen I will have the script to change name of a file.

Pleas help me out with this.

---

tell application "Finder"

set name of document "preference_TEST.xml" to (POSIX path of (path to home folder)) & "Library/Preferences/MPP/Local Store/preferences.xml" as POSIX file

end tell

MacBook Air 13″, macOS 10.14

Posted on Oct 28, 2020 6:25 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Oct 28, 2020 11:43 AM

>I need to use POSIX due to this is supposed to be a generic script, and the files are located in the users folder.

Completely sure I don't understand this statement. You're using Finder references, so there's no value in POSIX paths. POSIX paths should be used when using shell commands.

In any case, this is broken in many ways:

> set name of document "preference_TEST.xml" to (POSIX path of (path to home folder)) & "Library/Preferences/MPP/Local Store/preferences.xml" as POSIX file

Consider what you're asking the Finder to do.