Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

an error occurred applying the software update

I’m trying to update my MacBook Pro 13 from Catalina to Big Sur..... I am unable to update as it says “an error occurred applying the software update”. I had taken a time machine backup... it doesn’t show up right now! Is there anything I can do? It’s urgent.... I am a student and need to be attending class using my laptop

Posted on Nov 12, 2020 11:22 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Nov 15, 2020 7:20 AM

Hey I had the same problem but I have a solution. What you do is you restart your mac on the screen where is says an error occurred while applying the update and as your computer starts hold down command and "r". Then it will start macos recovery. There you choose your user and type in the password and then choole install mac os big sur. It will download a fresh copy of the update and install it. It worked for me hope it helps.

94 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Nov 15, 2020 7:20 AM in response to nisha291

Hey I had the same problem but I have a solution. What you do is you restart your mac on the screen where is says an error occurred while applying the update and as your computer starts hold down command and "r". Then it will start macos recovery. There you choose your user and type in the password and then choole install mac os big sur. It will download a fresh copy of the update and install it. It worked for me hope it helps.

Nov 15, 2020 7:37 AM in response to nisha291

We had a similar problem with my wife's iMac (21.5" 4K). Some error, undefined, was reported and the computer kept booting to the slash circle.

So yes, first thing, do the Cmd-R boot, then open Disk Utilities and run Disk First Aid to clear up any potential problems.

Quit then go to the install screen and Big Sur should be a choice. Also make certain your drive is showing.