Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Finder won't show icon previews of my items.

I recently updated my Mac to Big Sur and now finder won't show preview icons... I've read a lot of articles about this but none are from this most recent 2020 update and none of the older troubleshooting has worked for me.... I have smart sync on for dropbox so now I do notice that if I have items available it will show a preview, but everything else is not showing previews. I'm a designer/photographer so this is a huge issue for me.

[Re-Titled by Moderator]

Posted on Nov 20, 2020 6:32 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Dec 7, 2020 3:24 PM

Having exactly this same issue... I do not want to have to download every single file just to see a preview... and before the update I could see small thumbnails. Now all of my previews look like this...

Similar questions

87 replies

Jan 21, 2021 11:50 AM in response to B_Lars

Boot into Safe Mode by booting with the Shift key held down and check there to see if the problem persists.  Reboot normally and test again.

NOTE: Safe Mode boot can take up to 10 minutes as it's doing the following; 

• Verifies your startup disk and attempts to repair directory issues, if needed

• Loads only required kernel extensions (prevents 3rd party kernel/extensions from loading)

• Prevents Startup Items and Login Items from opening automatically

• Disables user-installed fonts 

• Deletes font caches, kernel cache, and other system cache files

Also have you installed or run any "cleaning", "optimizing", "speed-up" or anti-virus apps on your Mac?

Jan 25, 2021 3:23 PM in response to Scottford

We can't do anything about it because we're all users like yourself. Apple engineers do not frequent these forums.

All we can do is suggest various procedures that might correct whatever wrong with your setup.