Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

iMovie for Mac - Projects Thumbnails are Black Squares

I have just started using iMovie 10.2.2 on my new MacBook Pro running macOS Big Sur 11.1. I'm just learning how to use iMovie. I have created four projects and, while the creation of Projects appears to be straightforward, I do not understand why the thumbnails associated with each project in the Project View are simply black squares. I have read online that iMovie determines the thumbnail itself and that this cannot be changed manually. At this point, I would be happy with something other than a black square. See attached a screenshot.

MacBook Pro 13″, macOS 11.0

Posted on Jan 3, 2021 2:09 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jan 5, 2021 6:47 PM

Hello Dbid2017,

We understand your iMovie projects are appearing as black thumbnails. We'd be happy to help.

We have a resource that should help with this. Check out the steps in Add titles in iMovie on Mac.

You can also Edit app preview titles in iMovie on Mac for existing projects.

Thanks for using Apple Communities. Have a good one!

6 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Jan 5, 2021 6:47 PM in response to dbid2017

Hello Dbid2017,

We understand your iMovie projects are appearing as black thumbnails. We'd be happy to help.

We have a resource that should help with this. Check out the steps in Add titles in iMovie on Mac.

You can also Edit app preview titles in iMovie on Mac for existing projects.

Thanks for using Apple Communities. Have a good one!

Jan 6, 2021 10:17 AM in response to dbid2017

Hi, dbid2017,

iMovie randomly selects a frame in the middle of the project to display as the thumbnail in the projects browser screen. If that frame happens to be a black frame from a fade, or you have a background audio track that runs well past the end of the movie, then that might account for the black thumbnail.